top of page

Bardin-Man

Updated: Nov 11, 2019

There were some signs early that we were headed for treacherous waters. I had the wildest imagination as a child. I’m not talking about rainbows, flowers, and unicorns. I’m talking about scary stuff going on in child’s brain that was already making me lose sleep at night and put a damper on the way I saw the world.


I did not say they were rational fears. They were completely irrational. Things that were so far out there that when I spoke to people about it they didn’t think it was something to worry about. Let me just go ahead and tell you about them. Just so you know, it was definitely something to worry about.

1. I was completely sure that at any moment a fire was gonna spark-up and burn my whole family and home to the ground. I am the worst sketch-artist, but if you go back to my earliest works you will find rough diagrams of my house with written plans that my 7 year-old self was gonna follow to save everyone’s life when this volcano erupted in the kitchen. Even when I was young I thought just because its irrational doesn’t mean you shouldn’t be prepared. I still follow this line of thinking much of the time. Life is nothing if not polarizing, I have always wanted to be the hero just to eventually end up the villain. I wanted to be Jon Snow but always ended up being the Father of Dragons.


Neither of my parents smoked. We didn’t burn candles. For crying out loud,

we didn’t even use gas; all electric baby. I don’t know where this fear came

from. I did not have a fear of fire. I just had a fear that fire was everywhere I

couldn’t see and was eventually gonna encompass all that I could. Ok, no

big deal. At least this has happened before. People have burned to death.

Do you know anyone who has been abducted by aliens and fought off the

aliens? Yeah, me either.


2. I lost countless night’s sleep watching out my window and waiting for the aliens to come experiment on me. Forget donating your body to science; I was quite sure that my kid body was about to be taken to further the quest of an all-powerful, inter-galactic species. I was gonna help them take over earth. I didn’t want any part of that.


I am the worst sketch-artist, but if you go back to my earliest works, you will find

rough diagrams of my house with written plans that my 7 year old self was gonna

follow to save the world when this volcano hit my kitchen at the exact same

time as the aliens beginning their invasion. The odds were low, but I was

prepared.


Can you imagine a situation where I could overcome these two cataclysmic

events? I could. It involved me climbing out of my window and throwing my parents, niece, or whomever else was there over my shoulder to safety from all fires and alien abductors. Irrational problems call for irrational solutions. In my head, I truly was going to save everyone. Jon Snow has his wall to watch, and I had mine.


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page