top of page

Bardin-Man Part 2

Bardin-Man Pt 2


I told you all, that so often, I have wanted to be the hero, only to become the villain. Would you feel the same way about me, if I told you I had purposefully played villain, only so I could then play hero? I’m not talking about 33 year old Bardin. I’m talking about 7-8 year-old Bardin. The super-sweet kid who was drowning in a world full of the fear of fires and aliens.


I have a niece who is only 3 years younger than I am. We are much more like brother and sister than uncle and niece. She is Princess Sophia’s mom. Let me tell you, the Princess Apple did not fall for from the Queen Tree. For now, we will call her Queen Bob. Queen Bob was the most fun little girl, but she was so dramatic. She had an imaginary friend named Freckas, whom she would play with for hours on end. Needless to say, she was not lacking in imagination.


Queen Bob used to spend the night with us all the time. My room had twin beds; my bed was right by a great big window. This allowed my to keep a close look-out on aliens, and I had quick access to the outside for when the fire sparked-up.


It was a perfect scenario, when it was just my parents and I in the house. Queen Bob threw a huge wrench in my hero plans. I spent a lot of time going over what could be done. I couldn’t see anyway that I could carry Queen Bob and my parents. I could handle just my parents, but this four year-old little girl would be the straw that broke my camels back.


The only option I had was to bring her in on the plan. I brought out my diagram and showed Queen Bob. We went through all possible scenarios. This was the first, but not the last time, I tried to bring her into my world of irrationality. I was thorough. I knew that in a real volcano/alien scenario 99% of the time things wouldn’t go perfectly. This meant that we also had to go over weather scenarios. These included flash floods, thunderstorms, hurricanes, and tornadoes. Jon Snow didn’t tell the Night King to come back later because it was snowing; we had to be prepared.


After a couple hours, I could tell that Queen Bob was excited about the prospect of success. She was so excited that she had tears running down her face and was shaking. This made me continue to plan even after we got in our beds and turned out the lights. I hadn’t checked the weather that night, but I was glad we prepared for anything. Soon a terrible thunderstorm rolled in. As the thunder rumbled in at about the same amount of RPMs as a flying saucer, I realized that Queen Bob was legitimately scared for her tiny 4 year old life. Welcome to my world darling.


I didn’t know why she was so scared I mean we were talking about aliens. They weren’t real. I did feel for her though. Whatever scared my little niece upset me. I know I had to save her. This was my time to shine. As she cried, I slipped into bed with her and told her everything was gonna be ok. Even then, I knew that every story had a hero.




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page