top of page

El Capitan Part 1

I had a very different experience when I was incarcerated than most. I have mentioned before that I was part of the Trustee Program when I was in the clink. This meant I could serve my time in county and never actually have to go to the state department of corrections. There were a lot of us trustees to go along with 300-400 regular inmates and several dozen CO’s. I promise this is more headaches than you could possibly imagine. To deal with these headaches, there is one man who runs it all with almost complete autonomy. A ninja assassin, El Capitan.


You have to understand, only men who have a lot of the same blood running through their veins as I do, have made the kind of impact on me as a man and my life as the El Capitan has. This does not mean there weren’t times I was pretty sure he was going to kill me. He may also be a government assassin. He is definitely a ninja. What you don’t believe me? Fine, let me clear some things up for you.


El Capitan started his career as a Marine. He is a marine to the very marrow that lives in his bones. He is about 5’8”; a ball muscle teaming with energy looking for something to wreck. He keeps his hair shaved almost down to his scalp. He looks likes the Police. The first day we met I was pretty sure he was about to wreck me.


I had been working in the jail laundry room living in that terrible dorm with all those unclean men. One day, I got called into the Sheriff’s office to kind of talk to him about my past. The first thing he asked me was if I was guilty of the charge that had me locked up. I guess they think, as do I, that someone who is still holding on to denial is not ready for any real change. He barely got the question out before I said, “Yessir definitely guilty.” I then went over with him my past work experience and education. It must have sounded pretty good because the next day I got called to El Capitan’s office.


I was a nervous. I had heard about this man. He would try to send you to prison just for being in prison. I needed to give him some answers and get some space between he and I (plan failed, I worked with this man everyday, all day for the rest of my sentence). I had good reason to fear him, I would learn, but he would also teach me the meaning of mercy at the same time. One of his favorite things to do was to start the conversation by putting you on full-tilt. It can be exhausting being around him. He runs at such a high level of energy and is so sharp; you feel like each conversation is a competition. I tried to always stay on serve. It was hard, especially this first time.


I walked into his office, and he said, “They tell me you’re pretty smart.” This is not what I expected. I was completely rocked. Was this a compliment? A trap? Do I say thank-you? Do I say no? I don’t want him to think I am stupid. Looking back, probably any answer would have been more normal than what I said.


I said, “That’s what they tell me, too.” Oh My Gosh! This is it. I survived Hinds County and Madison County. My first cell mate in Rankin County had already gotten out and caught a murder charge in Warren County. I had survived a month with him, and I was about to get murdered right here. The first time I was in the Jail Administrator’s office. 187...


He sat there looking at me for a second. The wrinkles in his brow made me wish for more time. Then peculiarly he said, “You’ll be up here from now on. Don’t Freak(didn’t say freak) it up.” This was my chance to exit; that’s exactly what I did. It seems like I’ve spent most of my life looking for exits in situations and conversations.


Soon, El Capitan and I were really tight. We would have long philosophical talks about the best path to recovery for me and others who were under his purview. We both knew the disadvantage so many of these men and women had whenever they finally made it home. 90% to 99% of the people who were locked up here were in for drugs. This does not mean 90%-95% of the charges were drug charges. This means that the burglaries, robberies, domestic incidents, and other, various charges all boil down to the same two problems Alcohol Use Disorder and Substance Use Disorder. We needed to do something now to help before they left.


If corrections is more punitive than rehabilitative, then the battle against recidivism is already loss. It was incredible to see the change in the inmate and trustee population as programs and ministries became more and more available. Now, all we have to do is figure out how to continue this help when people leave. Whole families are wrecked with drugs. People get out and only have a crack house to go back to. These men and women may as well get out to give the jail a Like on Facebook and ask to come back in. They will get arrested again. This would at least save the tax payers money and possibly the addict’s life.


Some days our conversations weren’t so philosophical. The first time something like this happen, I was no longer in the dorm. The highest level trustees live in what’s called the module. This is where the magic happens. We had earned freedoms that most incarcerated men could only dream about. We were allowed to bring our on TV’s to the jail. I bought a used 40” Samsung and hung it up in 5’X10’ room that I shared with someone else. It pretty much took up a whole wall. I loved it. We had cable and PlayStations. No one realized how fast these things could be taken away until they were…Twice.


The first time, I had absolutely no clue what was going on. There was one trustee, we will call him Slick. Slick thought he was really smooth. I saw him coming from a mile away. Slick is one of those people that will tell you, “On nation, I made $300,000.00 last year.” First off, if a convict ever starts promising “On nation”(their gang), “On my mama”(their mom), “On my dead great grandmama’s grave”(their dead grandmother or some other distant relative), or “On _(Fill In The Blank)_”(anything), do not believe them.

One day, I was in booking(the jail intake), and El Capitan busted in through this huge, steel door like it was nothing. Not only did he throw the door to the side like it was paper, he was dragging Slick by the collar. Seriously, one man who is the same size as the other man was dragging the other man like a rag doll. My eyes got huge. I’m no hater, but I do enjoy a little drama from time to time. Some people in my life would call me an instigator. I had not instigated anything in this situation, not yet. El Capitan took Slick into the dress out room. I don’t know what happened in there, but Slick came out looking really sad and scared. He, also, had completely changed out of his trustee uniform into a regular inmate uniform. Hollar at your boy, Slick was in a lot of trouble. What could he have possibly have done?


Turns out he decided to try and scheme up an identification theft ring of one while he was locked up. Some people can’t be helped. This dude had used his status as an upper level trustee to become close to jail administration. They were in the process of helping Slick get his CDL, so he could get and honest, high-paying job when he got out. He screwed them over big time. When your life is helping the least among us, you are going to get let down a lot. El Capitan was learning this.


We talked about this in his office. I knew that he was not mad at me this time. This does not mean that I was happy when I had to deliver mine and everyone else’s cable boxes and gaming consoles to El Capitan’s office later that day. Lucky for me I still had a sweet DVD box set of The 100 Season 1. It wasn’t mine. I’m sure some girl I dated left it around. It sucked, but I’m glad I had it in pinch.


I was pretty angry at Slick. He really screwed us over. When you’re living Mano e Mano with a bunch of dude, little stresses become huge. Slick was lucky he wasn’t still at the module. He was sent straight to lock down. His stuff was packed up. One day, I was was walking through the lockdown zone and heard, “Say Bart, tell Lil Homie to put my TV up for me.” It was Slick. My old, good buddy who had caused problems for me and my friends.

When he decided to go rogue, we, as a group, had lost privileges. We lost passes, television, and game access. This was my chance to get some get back. So right on cue, I said, “What it do Slick? You all right? Been thinking about ya dawg. Yeah dude, I am going to tell Lil Homie to take care of you!”


When I ran into Lil Homie later in the day, I said, “ Yo dude! I just talked to Slick in lockdown. He said you could have his TV.”



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page