top of page

The Barrrr(roll your tongue)ista

The barista girl at Cups has a serious crush on me. In the last two-weeks she has paid for or given me my $5-$6 coffee two-times, like its nobody’s business.

The more I think about it, the more I think maybe she just feels dreadfully sorry for me. I have a hard-time doing the most basic things. I guess I’ll just explain the two situations, and let you decide for yourself.

1. Twice in the last two months I have lost my $100.00 Apple MacBook P charger. Twice I have gone and bought another charger. Twice I have eventually found my old charger, and twice I have taken the new charger back. It’s a very efficient way to live or write, for that matter.

The first time, I left it in my class and thankfully one of my classmates picked it up for me. The second time, I swear ya’ll, everything is going to be ok, but that dang thing was in my room the whole time. Well in the middle of the second time, as I tried to make some conversation and mentioned my charger while ordering, she said that my Large Mississippi Honey was on the house! I promise, I was just trying to make her smile by telling her about my life, and she gave me a free coffee. I wasn’t dramatic about my situation at all (I may have been kinda dramatic).

What she didn’t know was that exactly a day later I left it in my class again and had to be back at my school the following morning at 7:15 to get it before work. Making it three times that I had lost my charger in the last month, thankfully one of those times it was found in less than a week. It’s all about seeking that positivity.

2. You may ask yourself what could be so terrible that I could say and get another free coffee a week later? I’ll tell ya. One Saturday, I showed up at Cups with my hands full and went straight in the bathroom. I don’t know where exactly things went wrong, but before I walked out of there, my Maui Jims and wallet were in the toilet. After this catastrophe, I walked back to my car real-quick, just to do a small reset. On my way outside, as I tried to take a short-cut to my car, I ran into a limb, and pretty much poked-out my eye. I was in a perma-wink facial situation. My left-eye was functioning at 17%; I had a handful of quarters since everything I had to pay with just took a bath in the toilet; and anyone and everyone could tell things weren’t ok.

When I got back inside and was trying to explain to the barista why I was paying in quarters and looked like I had just tried to parallel-park the Black Pearl out front on the street, I saw her face begin to soften. Things were looking glum. Once again, I wasn’t dramatic at all (at this point, I was being very dramatic; the whole coffee-house was on notice). Honestly, when she told me my drink was free, I was half expecting her to offer me an eye-patch.

Life is so nuts. Everyday can be tricky. I try to give more than I receive. We are all riding together, but she’s definitely crushing on me.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Коментарі


bottom of page