top of page

The Good BoyFriend



I don’t like girly TV shows. I’m a man’s man, and I only like really manly TV shows.

I say that to say that sometimes in my life, when I am dating someone, I will let her choose the TV show. I absolutely hate it, but, because I always try to be a good boyfriend, I don’t have much choice. In high school, my girlfriend loved The OC. She would drag me through it, always talking about it. The OC was a prime-time teenage soap-opera. Where Ryan, a poor juvenile delinquent from Chino, comes to stay and eventually become a part of a rich, prominent family from Newport, CA, the Cohens. He meets the hot neighbor, Marissa, and sparks fly instantly. In their first scene, he’s standing on the side of the road smoking a cigarette, and she walks up and asks, “Who are you?’

Ryan killed the game right here with his response. With his cig in his mouth, he said,”Whoever you want me to be!!!!!”

My girlfriend from back then loved that scene, but still she knew the really funny parts were going to come from Seth, the rich, nerdy high-school boy of the Cohen family. See, Seth is in love with Summer, Marissa’s best friend and most popular girl in school. Seth is constantly doing these huge, romantic gestures, and Summer eventually falls for him. She tried to hide it, but my girlfriend let a tear slip the first time Seth and Summer kissed. I squeezed her hand thinking that maybe now we could watch something that I would like, but she really just wanted to keep watching that. Who was I to stop her? I suffer in silence.

Once I got to college, I did the things normal boys in my position do. I rushed a fraternity at Mississippi State. We would have parties on every Friday and Saturday during the football season. Since this was my freshman, pledge year, I would have to be at the frat house every Saturday morning at 5 am to clean up the house in what was called a work party. Often times, my pledge-brothers and I wouldn’t go to sleep between the work party and Football game on Saturday. There wasn’t any point; we had to go save seats at the football game pretty early in the day. So, I did what every good boyfriend would do and invited my pledge brothers over to my apartment to watch the DVD of The OC that I had gotten from somewhere, probably a Dirty Santa party or something. There’s no way I bought it. This way, they wouldn’t fall asleep, and I would be well caught up and prepared to discuss whenever she wanted to talk about it. Which was all the time.

Those guys liked it so much, that it became an insult in my friend group to be “Chino”. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad they liked it, but I sure didn’t. Those dudes were caught hook, line and sinker.

A couple years later; I was close to finishing up at Mississippi College. I would get out of class every morning at 11 and have to be at work at 2. One day I was eating lunch before work. While flipping the channels, I saw on the guide where on the Soap Network The OC would play everyday. This is when DVR was new and I must have made a mistake because I accidentally set it to record the whole series, as well as the whole series of One Tree Hill.

I kinda freaked out at first, but decided not worry about it, and let the recorder record these shows because I never knew when I may date a girl who liked these shows and wanted to see them.

I wasn’t really watching One Tree Hill much, but I started going out a few times with this chick who liked it. Its about these brothers, Nathan and Lucas. They are bitter rivals and long-lost half-brothers from the basketball soaked town of Tree Hill, North Carolina. Nathan was rich and Lucas was so “Chino”. Nathan was really good at basketball, and Lucas was a great writer. For some reason, this chic just loved those two things about these two characters. Not me though, I didn’t like that show; nothing manly on there for me to relate to.

As I’ve gotten older, every girl loves Grey’s Anatomy. I can’t even get into all the characters and the plot. Just know, if you don’t already, its a hospital show focusing on the Seattle Grace Hospital in Washington, and its been on television for every relationship I’ve ever been in. I date a girl, and we watch season 1; we eventually break-up. The next time I’m dating someone she’s on season 5, so I have to try and catch up. You know, being a good boyfriend and all. Every girl I have dated has loved the music on Grey’s. Its very dramatic, often, when she (plug in a name of any girl I’ve dated here) would see this drama with this perfectly timed music, tears would well up in her eyes, and she’d draw in just a little bit closer to me. I’d respond by holding her tighter, but I never really understood why. Its a doctor show; was someone dying?

When I’m not dating anyone, a lot of times, I will watch TV with my mom. I am a mama’s boy; so when she talked me into watching Grey’s Anatomy with her, I told her that, for her, I would do it. She owed me, though, because I didn’t want to. We are on season 2 right now, and I think McDreamy is a chauvinistic pig, while she sits and does bible study as I watch and fast forward through any inappropriate scenes.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page